Home » Posts » Gimbel & Trester Award Winners through 2005

Gimbel & Trester Award Winners through 2005

Arthur L. Trester Award for Mental Attitude
At the state finals, members of the IHSAA Executive Committee present the Trester Award to the outstanding senior participant in each
classification of the boys’ basketball state finals. The recipients of this award, who were nominated by their principals and coaches, must excel in
mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in basketball. Farm Bureau Insurance, IHSAA corporate partner, presents a $1,000
scholarship to each school in the name of the recipient.
From 1917 to 1943 the award was known as “The Gimbel Medal for Mental Attitude” in honor of Mr. Jake Gimbel of Vincennes, who awarded
the medal each of those years until his passing prior to the 1943 tournament. In 1944, the award became known as the “IHSAA Medal for Mental
Attitude”. In 1945, the IHSAA board officially named the award “The Arthur L. Trester Medal for Mental Attitude” in honor of the man who served
as first commissioner of the Association from 1929 to 1944.
Recipients were given a medal each year from 1945 through 1964, hence “The Arthur L. Trester Medal for Mental Attitude.” Since 1965, the
award has been made in the form of a plaque with a copy of the original medal incorporated on the face of the plaque, hence “The Arthur L.
Trester Award for Mental Attitude.”

Gimbel Medal for Mental Attitude
Year Name School
1916-17 Claude Curtis Martinsville
1917-18 Ralph Esarey Bloomington
1918-19 Walter Cross Thorntown
1919-20 Harold Laughlin Bedford
1920-21 Ralph Marlowe Sandusky
1921-22 Reece Jones Vincennes
1922-23 Maurice Robinson Anderson
1923-24 Philip Kessler Richmond
1924-25 Russell Walter Kokomo
1925-26 Richard Williams Evansville Central
1926-27 Franklin Prentice Kendallville
1927-28 Robert McCarnes Logansport
1928-29 Emmett Lowery Indianapolis Arsenal Technical
1929-30 Kenneth Young LaPorte
1930-31 Norman Cottom Terre Haute Wiley
1931-32 Jess McAnally Greencastle
1932-33 James Seward Indianapolis Shortridge
1933-34 Arthur Gosman Jasper
1934-35 James Lyboult Richmond
1935-36 Steve Sitko Fort Wayne Central
1936-37 Robert Menke Huntingburg
1937-38 Robert Mygrants Hammond
1938-39 Jim Myers Evansville Bosse
1939-40 Duane Conkey Mitchell
1940-41 Donald Server Madison
1941-42 Kenneth Brown, Jr. Muncie Burris
1942-43 Dave Laflin Lebanon
IHSAA Medal for Mental Attitude
1943-44 Walter McFatridge Kokomo
Arthur L. Trester Award for Mental Attitude
1944-45 Max Allen Indianapolis Broad Ripple
1945-46 Robert Cripe Flora
1946-47 Ronald Bland Terre Haute Garfield
1947-48 Lee Hamilton Evansville Central
1948-49 James Schooley Auburn
1949-50 Pat Klein Marion
1950-51 Robert Jewell Indianapolis Attucks
1951-52 Joe Sexson Indianapolis Arsenal Technical
1952-53 Harley Andrews Terre Haute Gerstmeyer
1953-54 Bobby Plump Milan
1954-55 James Henry New Albany
1955-56 Dennis Tepe Elkhart
1956-57 Robert Perigo Lafayette Jefferson
1957-58 Richard Haslam Crawfordsville
1958-59 James Rayl Kokomo
1959-60 Robert Cantrell East Chicago Washington
1960-61 Tom & Dick VanArsdale Indianapolis Manual
1961-62 John Wilson Evansville Bosse
1962-63 Greg Samuels Terre Haute Garfield
1963-64 Mike Weaver Huntington
1964-65 Edward Bopp Indianapolis Washington
1965-66 James Cadwell Michigan City Elston
1966-67 Charles Nelson Fort Wayne South Side
1967-68 James Nelson Gary Roosevelt
1968-69 Joe Sutter Marion
1969-70 James Trout Loogootee
1970-71 Jerry B. Lamberson New Castle
1971-72 Mark Inman Jeffersonville
1972-73 Garry Abplanalp Franklin
1973-74 Jon & Don McGlocklin Franklin
1974-75 Steve Walker Lebanon
1975-76 Jack David Colescott Marion
1976-77 Mark Herrmann Carmel
1977-78 Jack Moore Muncie Central
1978-79 Malcolm Cameron Terre Haute South
1979-80 Jeff Todd Marion
1980-81 Karl Donovan Vincennes Lincoln
1981-82 Phillip Wendel Plymouth
1982-83 John Harter Anderson
1983-84 Milan Petrovic Lake Central
1984-85 Todd Graf Richmond
1985-86 Todd Anderson Shelbyville
1986-87 Marvin Rea Gary Roosevelt
1987-88 Sam Long Muncie Central
1988-89 Patrick Graham Floyd Central
1989-90 Damon Bailey Bedford North Lawrence
1990-91 Steve Nicodemus Whitko
1991-92 Richie Hammel Lafayette Jefferson
1992-93 Pete Miller South Bend St. Joseph’s
1993-94 Bryce Drew Valparaiso
1994-95 T.J. Lux Merrillville
1995-96 Matt Taylor Warsaw
1996-97 Billy Lynch Delta
1997-98 4A Brad McPherson Marion
1997-98 3A Zach Fox Indianapolis Cathedral
1997-98 2A Rusty Garner Alexandria
1997-98 A Grant McBride Bloomfield
1998-99 4A Tim Church Elkhart Central
1998-99 3A Jeff Wiltrout Plainfield
1998-99 2A Luke Kimmel Paoli
1998-99 A Jake Holder Tecumseh
1999-00 4A Jared Jeffries Bloomington North
1999-00 3A Shane Power Andrean
1999-00 2A Scott Study Winchester Community
1999-00 A Clark Golish Union (Dugger)
2000-01 4A Chris Thomas Pike
2000-01 3A Brian Bell Muncie Southside
2000-01 2A Matthew Robbins Batesville
2000-01 A Andrew Brown Blue River Valley
2001-02 4A Chris Hunter Gary West Side
2001-02 3A Brian Wright Delta
2001-02 2A Mark Gonzales Speedway
2001-02 A Troy Roberson Rossville
2002-03 4A Alex Kock DeKalb
2002-03 3A Mike Dury Indianapolis Bishop Chatard
2002-03 2A Beau Bauer Cass
2002-03 A Derrick Smith Southwestern (Shelbyville)
2003-04 4A Stefan Routt Lawrence North
2003-04 3A Jon Zeser Bellmont
2003-04 2A Kyle Johnson Jimtown
2003-04 A Bryan Hurst Waldron
2004-05 4A Brandon McPherson Lawrence North
2004-05 3A Luke Zeller Washington
2004-05 2A None
2004-05 A Jason Holsinger Lapel

Read More Blog Posts

Featured (19) High School Basketball (182) Newspaper (56) Posts (154) Stories (6) Uncategorized (123) Videos (5)